Fancy Physicist 2021 pictures

The Technion Physics students celebrated the full return to campus by holding the annual "Fancy Physicist" day.

The event did not take place last year due to the COVID-19 crisis. The day began with a celebratory photo of all the students (top photo) and ended with the traditional physicists’ ball.

The "Fancy Physicist" event, a relatively new tradition in our department, is a tribute to the historical photos taken during the Solvey conferences where the world’s greatest physicists gather once every few years. The first Solvey conference, held in 1911, focused on “The theory of radiation and quanta”. Perhaps the most famous conference was the fifth gathering held In 1927, where 17 out of the 29 attendees where Nobel laureates. The attendees (bottom picture; left the right, top to bottom): A. Piccard, E. Henriot, P. Ehrenfest, E. Herzen, Th. de Donder, E. Schrödinger, J. E. Verschaffelt, W. Pauli, W. Heisenberg, R. H. Fowler, L. Brillouin; P. Debye, M. Knudsen, W.L. Bragg, H. A. Kramers, P. A. M. Dirac, A. H. Compton, L. de Broglie, M. Born, N. Bohr; I. Langmuir, M. Planck, M. Curie, H.A . Lorentz, A. Einstein, P. Langevin, Ch.-E. Guye, C. T. R. Wilson, O. W. Richardson. The next Solvey physics conference is scheduled to take place May 2022.